Metro Tech: Students Competed in Future Business Leaders of America State Conference

Posted by Communications on 5/10/2017

Several students competed in the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) State Conference, April 17.  Metro Tech qualified 34 students for Nationals, based on finishing 1st through 4th.   First place wins included Hospitality Management, Presentation and Partnership with Business.

There were several other awards for Metro Tech.    The FBLA Chapter was named a Gold Chapter, and is the fourth largest chapter in the country. Ahmed Stanikzai was awarded first place in the most prestigious competitive event, the Future Business Leader competition.  He is an FBLA State officer, the DECA Chapter president and has served hundreds of hours of community service.  He will be attending ASU’s W.B. Carey Business School next year.  Metro Tech’s principal Bryan Reynoso was awarded the Administrator of the Year; Debbie Cross, Banking and Finance teacher at Metro, was award the Honorary Lifetime membership award, recognizing her 30-plus years serving FBLA.  Jane Dobbs, the President and CEO of Canyon Sate Credit Union, was awarded the Business Person of the Year.  She has been active with Metro Tech CTE programs, including an on-campus credit union.