Phoenix Union will Hold their Second Annual Sport Hall of Fame

Posted by Communications on 12/21/2016


Phoenix Union High School District will hold its second annual Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner, Tuesday, December 20 at Talking Stick Arena, honoring coaches, athletes and teams from 1950-1969.    This year’s event will also feature eight special inductees, such as legendary baseball coaches Jim Brock and Martin “Pug” Marich.


Among the 51 inductees are 13 coaches and 34 athletes and a few who both played and coached at PUHSD schools.  The program will also recognize 70 State Championship teams.   This year’s list includes four Olympians- North’s Dallas Long, gold medal shot putter, 1960; Central’s Winn Young, bronze medal in diving, 1968; Central’s Marylyn Ramenofsky, swimming, silver medal, 1964; and Central’s Lois Drinkwater, Arizona’s first female Olympic runner, 1968.


Special inductee Jim Brock played and coached at North long before his Mesa Community College and ASU coaching careers.  Pug Marich earned fame as Phoenix College’s baseball coach, but he began his career at Phoenix Union in 1947, and became the first football and baseball coach at Central High School in 1957.  Other notable names include Central Tennis coach Dave Silcox, Alhambra Baseball coach Ron Scott, PUHSD athlete and athletic director Moody Jackson and Alhambra Football player Boyd Epley, who is considered the “founder” of strength and conditioning coaching while at Nebraska.


The inaugural event last year honored 44 inductees from as far back as 1913, as well as some “modern era” coaches from 1950-present.  


The Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony begins at 5 p.m. at the Talking Stick Resort Arena, in the main lobby.  The public is invited.  Tickets are $30, or $260 for a table.   Tickets can be purchased through the Phoenix Union Foundation for Education at, or checks may be mailed to the kFoundation, at 7949 Acoma Dr. #207, Scotttsdale, AZ 85260 in care of Sports HOF Ceremony.              Registration deadline is December 15.