Betty Fairfax JROTC Represented AZ in JROTC Leadership and Academic Bowl

Posted by Community Relations Department on 8/8/2013

The Betty Fairfax JROTC unit was the only Arizona finalist in the Army JROTC Leadership and Academic Bowl, also known as JLAB in Washington D.C. this past June.   They did the District and state proud, finishing 11th among the 40 finalists.  It was the first time a Phoenix Union JROTC unit had advanced to the finals…and it is certainly not an easy task.


This competition testing students’ knowledge of leadership principles and Army values began with 3,000 JROTC teams around the world, beginning in October,  Fairfax advanced past  “The Challenge” first round, and qualified in the Zero Hour Threat” second round in February as one of 40 teams to compete in the Leadership Bowl to earn an all-expenses paid trip to George Mason University in Fairfax, VA.


The team is made up of  Cadet Major Sharon J. Guerra,  who is also the Battalion Commander and Team Captain;  Cadet Lieutenant Jordan A. Esparza;   Cadet/Command Sergeant Major Jesus Avila;  Cadet Staff Sergeant Ashley N. Stifanos;  and  Cadet Corporal  Denisha Gregory, the Battalion Public Affairs Officer and first alternate.  The team’s coach is JROTC instructor Lieutenant Colonel Robert Cronin.




The JLAB Leadership Team Championship included teams competing in a Classroom Performance System-based format.  Teams respond to questions and accumulate points by answering leadership and leadership-related questions from material contained in the Army JROTC Curriculum, and books by General George C. Marshall and General Douglas MacArthur.   Teams ran the “Leadership Gauntlet” – a series of stations where teams were tested on their leadership   The testing took them to five different stations over a five-hour period. The cadets also participated in a leadership symposium, where they presented a JROTC Unit Best Practice report and a media presentation.


Besides their 11th place finish, the Fairfax Cadets earned several awards and certificates, including the General George C. Marshall Medal for Outstanding Achievement in the Army JROTC Leadership Symposium and the MacArthur Foundation Leadership Award medal with certificate.