•  Moot Court

    In the competition, two opposing attorneys argue about what the law should be regarding a Constitutional question.  They must use previous decisions made by actual courts.  

    Participation in the local Moot Court Competition at ASU's Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law is a requirement of all students who are enrolled in Mr. Smith's Government and the Law and his Government and the Law Honors class.  

    Over 500 urban high school students participate in the Marshall-Brennan Constitutional Literacy Project nationally, studying constitutional law with law-school students.  The project is named after former Supreme Court Justices Thurgood Marshall and William Brennan

    South Mountain's Moot Court Program has produced TWO NATIONAL CHAMPIONS.  Eugenia Anane-Wae won in 2014 and Ambra Jordan won in 2009.   In addition, the program has produced three National Finalists (Markaya Hill, Mariah Quintero and Jude Bauer) and a National Semi-finalist every year of the program from 2009-2019.  Matthew Smith, Law Magnet Program Manager is the Moot Court Program Director.


    In November 2019 - Four Law Magnet students qualfied for the National Competition in March 2020 among the 8 students that will representing the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law.

    All students in Mr. Smith's US Supreme Court class compete in the Mandatory Moot Court at ASU in the fall.  This local competition is used to select the 8 competitors who compete in the National Championship Competition in Camden, New Jersey.